top of page

The Community Council's Founders Awards

The Irvington Community Council and the Historic Irvington Halloween Festival are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Founder’s Awards. Since 2011, the awards have recognized individuals, organizations and businesses making significant contributions to the overall quality of life in Irvington. The awards are presented during the Historic Irvington Halloween Festival, to be held this year from October 22-29, 2022. 

For owning two Irvington businesses, for her advocacy on behalf of all Irvington small business owners, and for her generosity to our community, the Council recognizes Lisa Bennett, owner of Black Sheep Gifts and Josephine’s.

Lisa Bennett
Mary Jane Eichacker

For her decades of quiet yet tireless support of Irvington institutions such as the Benton House and Irving Circle Park, the Council recognizes Mary Jane Eichacker

Kevin Friedly & David Newman

For helping to make Irvington a hub for Indianapolis music and for continually giving their time and artistic gifts to our community, the Council recognizes Kevin Friedly and David Newman.

Chris Maroldo & Cathie Carrigan

For his faithful service to the Irvington Community Council, including six years as its president, and for her tireless efforts on behalf of Irvington Terrace, the council recognizes Chris Maroldo and Cathie Carrigan.

Nancy Tindall-Sponsor & Manuel Aguilar

For their faithful stewardship of the Historic Irvington Halloween Festival and for their constant service on behalf of our community, the Council recognizes Nancy Tindall-Sponsel and Manuel Aguilar.

Past Founders Award Winners 2018 DSC0324
2018 Group photo of latest and previous Founders Award recipients from Left to Right: Jack& Dawn Nelson, Larry & Kathleen Tindall, John Mervilde, Kathleen Angelone, Stan Denski, Laura Mervilde, Sue Kennedy, Ed Myers, Carol & Bruce Gable, Dawn Briggs, Sue Beecher, William Gulde and Paula Schmidt. 
2011 - Awards were presented to The Legend restaurant and to John and Laura Mervilde for their restoration of the Davidson House on Lowell.
2012 - Awards were presented to Bruce Gable of Irvington Terrace and to Brian and Emily Mack for the restoration of their historic home on N. Hawthorne.
2013 - Awards were presented to Ed Myers, Rosemary Spalding and to Dufours Restaurant.
2014 - Awards were presented to The Irvington Historical Society, Dawn Briggs, and Snips Salon.
2015 - Awards were presented to Marty Powell, The Garden Club, and Guitar Town.
2016 - Award presented to Paula Schmidt.
2017 - Awards presented to the Irvington Public Library, Sue Beecher, and William Gulde.
2018 - Awards presented to the Jack & Dawn Nelson, Kathleen Angelone, Larry & Kathleen Tindall, and Stan Denski.
2019 - Judy Crawford, Paula Nicewanger, and Ethel Winslow (owners and publishers of The Weekly View), Jan DeFerbrache (owner of The Magic Candle and director of Gaia Works Food Pantry), Kent Hankins and Bill Aughe (community activists), Mike and Mary Lee Spilbeler (community activists and owner of the Irvington Picture Frame Company).
2020 - Scott Irons (owner of Indy Cycle Specialist), Nancy Duncan, Mick McGrath, Bob and Laura Stark (owners of Jockamo's Upper Crust Pizza), Steve and Sue Barnett (community activists), and Laura Hildreth (Irvington artist).
Nominations for the award are accepted from any neighborhood resident at anytime.  The winners are selected by the members of the Irvington Community Council at the beginning of June.

Previous Founders Awards

Kathleen Angelone (L)
Larry and Kathleen Tindall
Stan Denski
Jack and Dawn Nelson
Sue Beecher
Sue Kennedy
William Gulde
Dawn Briggs
Bill Shaefer
Marty Powell
Bruce Gable
Rosemary Spalding
bottom of page